h1

Celsius 6/26

June 26, 2004

So we just got back from The Magnolia where we saw the controversial Fahrenheit 9/11. Obviously, a lot has been said about this movie already. But, I suppose it’s my turn. I mean, it’s my blog.

I guess it’s kinda hard to offer an objective opinion of this film which so pointedly lambasts President Bush and his staff, given my already torrid distaste for the man. After seeing Fahrenheit 9/11 though, I can honestly say that whether you love or loathe the man, you really should see this film.

Even if you ignore the more opinionated segments in it, you will still come away with a very moving piece of cinema. There is a large story arc involving a family from Moore’s home town of Flint, Michigan which deals with the loss of their son in Iraq that is heart-wrenching. Also, the interviews with the soldiers themselves in Iraq is almost Kubrick-esque. The frustration in the soldiers voices brings to mind scenes from Full Metal Jacket.

And, in addition to all this, the movie is peppered with gems of comic genious. I laughed my ass off in several parts. Case in point.

So, let’s sum it all up. I laughed. I cried. I thinked. . . er thought. Or is it thunked? Anywho, go see it. That’s an order.

