h1

Don’t Blame Me, I Voted For Kodos

September 9, 2005

A wise man once said, “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”

A wiser man, I think it was Jesus, once said, “He who smelt it, dealt it.”

Indeed today is the first day of the rest of my life. For today I have braved the barren wasteland of East Dallas with nothing but some lycra and a helmet to protect me. Last night I finished decking out the DeathBike 3000 (here on out, DB3K) with all it’s commuting goodies, loaded her up and got ready for the commute this morning. I was giddy with anticipation.

I finally got out the door at about 7:30am this morning. I gave myself an hour to get to work, even though the route is only 7.5 miles, I wasn’t sure how easy it would be to cross the major intersections. Turned out to be a piece of cake. Made it here in 30 min flat. The only hiccup I had was that it was butt-ass cold this morning for some reason. My nipples could cut glass, and not that fru-fru cheap glass. I’m talking the 6 inch shit they use in high-rise buildings.

So, all in all, a good ride.

Unfortunately I won’t be able to ride back home, since Alana’s having a happy hour party here in Deep Ellum at the illustrious, Elbow Room. I hope she’s got a big trunk, cuz I’m gonna put my bike in it.

Since Harley asked, and since I love this neato Google Maps pedometer, here is my route to work.

