h1

Things I don’t mind paying for

April 7, 2008

This may become a recurring segment here at Tales of Interest.  There are several things in life that I would rather pay someone else to do, even if I’m perfectly capable of doing it myself.

Case in point:  Coinstar

Coinstar

You’ve probably seen these giant mechanical wonders of awesomeness at your local grocery store.  If you’re unaware of the greatness of Coinstar, allow me to elaborate.  You know that jar of loose change you keep on your dresser?  Coinstar will swallow the contents of that jar whole and spit out a single slip of paper, which you can then exchange for COLD, HARD, CASH (and maybe a few more coins).  You just dump the change in its greedy little slit of a mouth, and it does all the hard labor of sorting and counting while you reap the benefits.  It’s amazing.  And what does it charge you for this incredible service?  A pittance really.  8.9 cents per dollar.  Today, I brought in $70.93 of change, and left with $64.62 of CASH.  A little over six dollars to save me the hours upon hours of sorting and rolling quarters, dimes, nickels, and pennies.  Not to mention the drive to the bank and waiting in line, etc..  I would gladly pay twice that.  But, don’t tell the Coinstar people that.  I don’t want them to get greedy.

Leave a Reply

